It’s OK To Rage Against The Machine

rage_against_the_machine_by_philliard-d5bsh86

I’ve been known to rage against the machine on occasion.

Like most people, I’m especially brave when the machine can’t fight back against my rant.

Recently I got a call from my computer support team asking me if I wanted to “optimize” my machine to make it run more efficiently. I was a little leery because the last time they did this I spent days finding passwords, bookmarks and other key elements I need to do my work.

Because I’m a contract editor and writer, my computer is my lifeblood. I can’t afford for things to go missing or not work, so I pay roughly $200 a year to this support company to provide technical backup.

For the most part they are pretty good. They diagnose my periodic issues and help me solve them.

Now I’ve been burned a time or two, so I definitely believe we are too soon old and too late smart.

I have invested in remote backup devices only to have them do headers onto the floor. You learn a lot about “clean rooms” and data retrieval software when this happens.

And that big company that promises to backup all your computer files regularly. Good company, but it took me nearly three weeks to get my data back and it sure wasn’t in the order that I had it in. I’m still looking for files nearly a year later.

So when my support guy said optimize, I said, “This won’t affect my passwords, right?”

First he said yes, and then checked with someone else on his end and the answer was still yes.

That should have been my first clue. The optimization took about 10 minutes, but when the reboot was over, all my passwords and user ID’s in Firefox were gone. I called the company; we reset the system to before the optimization — nothing.

I had the support people reset it again — still nothing.

I registered my ire and fear with the company rep who said he would move it up the food chain to the expert group. I reminded him that what had been promised to be safe had now eaten up my passwords and nearly four hours of my time.

Fearing I had nothing to lose, I suggest my time was valuable and the loss of passwords could set my business back thousands of dollars. So I told the tech my billable time was $99 an hour, which is about what I figured a service tech would charge.

Funny how the paper trail runs dry when there is a screw up on their end. My case number was passed on to the expert group and I got a call four days later. Within 10 minutes of looking at the “saved passwords” portion of Firefox (like I hadn’t already done that a million times, plus Googling how to retrieve lost FF passwords) the so-called expert gave up and told me my passwords were toast.

Honey Boo Boo would have been more help, or at least trended better on Twitter.

OK, if this wasn’t so pathetic it would be a LOL moment.

So here’s where I raged against the machine, full-knowing I’ll never win. I sent an email to the experts group at the support company informing them that I was billing them for $396 and would appreciate a check for that amount to be sent to me. Heck, I’d even take it in an extension of my contract.

OK, get ready to LOL. I got a note back saying it had once again been passed up the corporate food chain.

Stay tuned. I’ll let you know if rage equals cash one day.

PS – Fearing the worst I had previously taken a screen shot of all my passwords, so all was not lost.

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “It’s OK To Rage Against The Machine”

  1. Patrice Says:

    Thanks for another informative blog. Where else could I am
    getting that kind of info written in such a perfect method?

    I’ve a undertaking that I’m simply now running on, and
    I’ve been on the glance out for such information.

Leave a Reply

