Go For It. Are They Nuts?

I just read a blog post from C.C. Chapman, co-author of Content Rules and a blogger at Digital Dads, in which the author says follow your passion and the rewards will come.

It’s kind of funny I stumbled into this blog post because just this week I posed a question to my Facebook friends. I told them I was toying with the idea of building my own writing/editing/social media business working from home and asked for their opinions. And the resounding answer was “go for it.”

Well, it’s easy to be cavalier and flip in a Facebook post, but putting bread on the table for your family requires a certain level of adult commitment.

Getting your name out there and a foot in the door is easier said than done in the ultra-competitive world of online content writing and social media updating. I’ve been fortunate to work my way in with a media group, which has kept me busy on a steady basis for more than a year doing one type of work or another.

During this time I’ve been a website editor, social media team member and national website editor providing content for more than 26 sites. But the hardest thing to do is to get your message out on a local basis, or at least it is for me.

In the past few years, I’ve developed two blogs — one for job hunting and new technology and another that chronicles my life as a really slow runner — written countless news stories for various websites, injected myself into the mainstream of social media and done some magic in Photoshop.

I’ve seen it as my goal to interact as much online as possible, whether it’s providing blog content, sharing in Twitter chats or using LinkedIn to build up my personal network and chase down information about jobs and the people hiring for those jobs.

Somewhere in this hodge-podge is a passion for all things digital and online, it’s just taken me a while to realize it.

YouTube Video: One Hour Per Second

So I guess I’ve found my passion, now I just need to find a niche in which to practice all these skills. That’s the fertile ground from which the work-from-home content creator job idea came from.

So a part of me is willing to follow my passion. But there’s another part of me that would like to be under the big, comfy umbrella of a company that provides a regular paycheck and benefits. In this economy, that’s not always easy to find.

In the meantime Mr. Chapman and Facebook friends, I’m going to keep one eye on the job hunt and the other eye on how I might be able to follow my passion to a successful career. Sometimes you just have to keep moving forward and gathering string along the way, so that when the time comes you’re ready for the reward.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Go For It. Are They Nuts?”

  1. Kindergeburtstag Mannheim Says:

    I think this is among the most important info for me.
    And i am glad reading your article. But wanna remark on some general things, The web site style is ideal, the articles is really
    nice : D. Good job, cheers

Leave a Reply

